You discover a talking starfish who asks you to show her what life on land is like, but she can’t come out of the water for more than five seconds.

If I were to meet a talking starfish who wanted to see life on land I would first grab a big glass or vase to fill with water and put the starfish in. Next I would inform the starfish not to talk in front of other people because they would probably freak out and then they would end up in a science lab being experimented on. If they did need to talk to me to ask a questions or something we would come up with a signal so that I could get my phone out and pretend like I am on speaker phone, so that no one would notice the starfish was really talking.

Once the starfish agreed to my terms and conditions I would fill up my container with sea water and place the starfish into it. Then I take the starfish up and down the beach so they could see all the people enjoying themselves. I would take them to a pier, like the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk or so the San Francisco Fisherman’s Wharf, and let them watch people. I would take the starfish to a ferris wheel  so they could see for as far as their little eyes would allow. I would end the day eating dinner sitting on the patio of a cafe, enjoying the sunset with my new friend. I would take the starfish to a secluded spot on the beach and have a long and deep conversation about what they had seen and answer any questions that they might have before putting them back in the ocean.

I would be sad and I might even come back to the spot and visit the starfish every so often. In the end we would stay friends and talk more about people and the world. Keeping the secret of my new friend a secret for their own protection.

-B

The image is from google image.

2 thoughts on “You discover a talking starfish who asks you to show her what life on land is like, but she can’t come out of the water for more than five seconds.

Leave a Reply

