Whats your favorite meal? Who cooks it best? What does the meal remind you of?

I have many favorite foods and meals. The one that I have picked for this topic is beans and weiners and fried potatoes. I picked this meal because it is one of the few meals that I ate all the time growing up and that I can’t seem to replicate. Basically you cut up a pack of hot dogs and put them in with a can of pork and beans, ketchup and mustard. You bake that in the oven and fry the sliced potatoes in butter turning them occasionally. I like mine with some of them crispy, but that is just me. I always eat it with a lot of ketchup for both the potatoes and the hot dogs.

My mom cooked it the best but my grandma is a very very close second. I was just at her house for a visit and she made this for me twice. I did have to peel and cut the potatoes though. Which isn’t a big deal because I make fried potatoes here sometimes. Anyway those are the people who make it best. The way that I just can’t seem to get it.

I can make everything else I ate as a child except this for some reason. I don’t know what it is that I do wrong but clearly I am missing something. I have had my grandma tell me how to do and I follow her instructions to a tee but I just can’t seem to get it right.

This meal reminds me of home. It reminds me of my childhood and my mom. It reminds me of sitting around a table enjoying a meal with your family all together and also birthdays because this is what I would always ask my mom to make me on my birthday. It makes me homesick just thinking about it. This is the reason it is one of my favorites. One of my other favorites is spaghetti and I can make that here. While it does remind me of home in a way I think mine is better than the way my mom or grandma made it.

-B

Image is from google image. It feels great to be back home. My trip was most excellent, but I am glad to be back.

 

One thought on “Whats your favorite meal? Who cooks it best? What does the meal remind you of?

  1. Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

