You realize your crush is following you home. What do you do?

Amber was a typical middle school student. She had the usual celebrity crushes and crushes on some of her classmates. She really liked this one kid. His name was Syd, he was named after Syd Vicious. He was mysterious and brooding. All the girls had crushes on him.

One day Amber noticed that Syd was following her home. She knew he lived on the other side of town, so it was weird to see him on her street. She continued walking pretending not to notice him. Then Syd called her name. Amber turned around and said “What? Why are you following me, it’s sorta creepy.”

Syd replied “I’m sorry. I am not trying to freak you out. I just can’t go home and was hoping maybe I could hang out with you. I just didn’t know how to ask.”  Amber responded “Why can’t you go home and why me?”

“I can’t go home because well we don’t really have one. I can’t hang out in the shelter so I have to find something else to do during the day. I get really lonely. I chose you because you seem really nice and understanding. I mean you’re not like those other girls who just have a crush on me. You seem to actually pay attention to me.”

“Oh ok. I’m sorry you don’t have a place to stay. Yeah you can hang out with me as much as you want. My mom will be more than happy to feed you too.” She walked toward him and they began walking together back to her place. She understood what he was going through. She grew up in a similar situation, her family just managed to get out of it and make it far enough out of poverty that they had a house.

Amber’s mom was completely accepting of Syd and offered to feed him. She even offered Syd and his Dad a place to stay. They eventually moved in with Amber and her family. Amber and Syd grew really close over the years and became best friends. All they girls were jealous of Amber because they all thought that her and Syd were dating. When in reality they were just really good friends, she initially was attracted to Syd but that morphed into caring about him the was she would a brother.  Also Syd was gay and no one else knew that.

-B

Image from google image

Leave a Reply

